Raleigh Raptors – Ready for another year?

Happy new year!The year begins with an early morning walk around the Capitol with one hawk taking off from a tree. I couldn’t tell who it was.  Up ahead, on a cross, another hawk stood.  I walked quickly towards it but before I could snap any shots, it took off!

Luckily, all it did was a short hop to do some banking at the Wells Fargo.  It was Papa.

Happy New Year to all you bipeds!

Dec17 (1 of 6)

Dec17 (2 of 6)

While I checked my shots to make sure they were good (it was still very dark) (1/20 f4.0 ISO 1600),  Papa took off.  I didn’t see where he flew to, but on my way to work, I noticed a familiar sight atop the former Two Progress Plaza.

In fact, there was not one, but two!

Ready for another year?

Dec17 (3 of 6)

Dec17 (4 of 6)

I am if you are. See ya!

Dec17 (5 of 6)

Dec17 (6 of 6)

Looks like our Red-tailed friends will be here for another breeding season.  We hope they’ll use the same nest atop the 1st baptist church.  They’ve been successful before twice, so chances are good they’ll use it again.

Till then, keep reading or sign up for automatic blog updates sent to your email.

BTW, no sign of the kid, Blynken.

4 thoughts on “Raleigh Raptors – Ready for another year?

Leave a Reply

