Raleigh Raptors – Here we go again!

Jan 7, 2013

It was 26 cold degrees this morning but that didn’t bother our Red-tailed hawks who went shopping for materials for their nest.  I only caught the tail-end of the work done to the nest as I saw Mama fly out of the nest, land on an oak tree, break off a twig and ferried more lumber into the nest.

jan7 (1 of 3)

It is a LOT of work to ferry wood one stick at at time.  Kudos to these hard-working birds.

jan7 (4 of 8)

Mama flew off and landed briefly on the Capitol, then took off.  I circled around and found Papa

 

jan7 (1 of 1)

on an oak tree.  He didn’t stay long and took off to catch a few rays.  I guess the job for the morning was complete.

jan7 (5 of 8)

Watching the Sun Rise

jan7 (6 of 8)

Looks like our Red-tailed friends are ready.

jan7 (7 of 8)

Ready Raleigh? Here we go again!

jan7 (8 of 8)

Downtown Raleigh will be watching!

2 thoughts on “Raleigh Raptors – Here we go again!

  1. I love it that you call your birds Mama & Papa because that’s what I’ve called mine for years. I am so surprised they are nest building at this time of year. My hawks built a new nest this last fall which broke my heart as I now will be unable to see into their nest. I never got a complete blog going like you have but check out RaptorReverie.wordpress.com if you’d like. Thank you for sharing your birds and magical experiences with us!

    • hi, maureen,
      it makes it easier to call them. Papa & Mama.
      btw, your pictures are very nice. I wish I would be able to peer into the nest, but alas, the way the nest is situated, there is no vantage point that allows a camera into the nest specially now, the nest has become quite deep.

      BR
      jordan

Leave a Reply

