Raleigh Raptors – Where’s Mama and Papa?

The past 2 weeks have been quite quiet with sightings of the Red-tails.  I’ve seen just a few quick glances of some of them, but they don’t seem to stay long and fly right off.  Is it the rain (last week), or the cold (this week)?

I thought I was getting in a bit too late, so today, I tried to be at the Capitol early before sunrise hoping to catch the RT’s.  No luck.  So I checked out the roof tops and found one by the edge of the parking deck.   I took a snap…

jan24 (1 of 4)

but I wasn’t sure who it was so I went in for a closer look.

jan24 (4 of 4)

jan24 (3 of 4)

jan24 (2 of 4)

It looks like our boy, Blynken.  He was looking left and right and flew off as I approached.

But where’s Mama and Papa?  I haven’t seen them for 2 weeks now and the nest, while having more lumber, has looked the same this week.

jan24 (1 of 1)

It might be due to the cold snap we’re having this week (after all, it’s still winter) or I just didn’t have the right timing.  In any case, I sure hope Mama and Papa are both okay.

jan24 (1 of 1)-2

Leave a Reply

