Getting ready for the next year?

yearEnd2013 (1 of 1)-2

“A winter’s day, in a deep and dark December, I am alone gazing from the ground to the skies above…”

Okay, not quite Simon and Garfunkel’s “I am A Rock”, but close 🙂

Dec 18

Most of the times, I see zippo of Raleigh’s Red-tails, but sometimes, luck is on my side and I see one of them flying high above.  Looks like the Red-tails are starting off late these days.

yearEnd2013 (1 of 1)

Dec 20

With no resident raptor on duty, invaders make their appearance in Red-tail land.  I caught a glimpse of a large bird on an oak tree next to the Capitol.  It wasn’t one of the Red-tails, but a Cooper.

yearEnd2013 (1 of 14) yearEnd2013 (2 of 14)

As I pointed my camera towards him, he looked at me and subsequently took off.  Any Red-tails in sight? Nada.

yearEnd2013 (3 of 14) yearEnd2013 (4 of 14)

There’s been no activity on the nest either. It has looked the same today as it has been from a few months ago.  Are they coming back?

yearEnd2013 (5 of 14)

Looks like they haven’t left.  How many of the 2 juveniles are left in the city?  I’m unsure, but reports from folks in the Revenue Building say they’ve seen 4 Red tails around the Capitol.  Thanks for the report, Dee!

Four means mom and pop, eden and sally.  Remember, Hee-Larry (or Hilary) was released back into the wild a few months back.

Dec 20

Birds Eye-View

yearEnd2013 (6 of 14)

Late afternoon, I was in luck as there were 3 Red-tails in the Capitol area.  Two were perched on the Wells Fargo building.  I’m not sure who was up there but my guess is one juvenile and Papa.

As I circled the Capitol, I caught a glimpse of another Red-tail.  At first I thought it was Mama, but looking at the tail feathers revealed it to be a juvenile.  Both Eden and Sally are still here?  Not 100% sure.

yearEnd2013 (7 of 14) yearEnd2013 (8 of 14) yearEnd2013 (9 of 14) yearEnd2013 (10 of 14)

Who ever that was on the tree took off and landed on the Cross of a church.  But it didn’t stay long and flew back into the Capitol, passing by their former home and joined Mama in the air.

yearEnd2013 (12 of 14)

One of the kids – probably Eden…

yearEnd2013 (14 of 14)

Mama

yearEnd2013 (13 of 14)

 

Will they be back next year? I hope so.

 

Till then, Raleigh’s Red-tails wish y’all  a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year!

Ciao!

JP

Leave a Reply

